Skip to content

Weekend Projects

October 31, 2010

Hello! Are you surprised? Can you believe all this blogging? I was just wondering how all my fellow quilters have spent their weekend? I am currently handstitching the binding onto our last fall release, due to arrive in our shop in a couple of weeks. It’s so supper cute and soft…hint, hint.

So here’s your challenge (and there is a give a way involved so you might want to participate!). Question #1 – Tell me if you “quilted” on the weekend. (quilting refers to piecing, binding, quilting)  Question #2 –  Do you put your binding on by hand or machine!  I will pick a winner on Wednesday!

Here is a sneak peek at the upcoming fall release…

 We have a new addition to the bmd family…(NO! not a baby – that’s not even funny) but a new quilter. Thanks Judy G. for quilting this quilt for us. She did a great job! This is actually the 2nd bmd project she has quilted (she has also quilted some personal projects for both Myra and I – yes, we get those once in a while) I will show you more of the quilting when the project is completely done and photographed well!

Thanks for stopping by…

~c

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane permalink
    October 31, 2010 2:32 pm

    Yes, I have done some “quilting” this weekend. Yesterday I cut out and have started piecing a sports quilt for my son’s birthday – the week of Thanksgiving. Nothing like waiting til the last minute. I try and sew at least an hour every day. It’s my form of therapy.

    Question 2 – I sew the binding onto the front and flip it over and hand stitch in place.

  2. October 31, 2010 2:58 pm

    Love the minkie bunny! Can’t wait to see the whole project.

    I did do some quilting yesterday. I’m working on a tote bag…I love designing and making tote bags using charm packs especially, but this one was from yardage! Today I did some ironing in anticipation of more quilting!

    I sew the binding on my projects by machine. Hand stitching is so hard on my hands and wrists. I wish I could hand stitch the back side as I do think it looks much better, but I just can’t so I have decided to just do my best on machine binding.

    MGM

  3. robin permalink
    October 31, 2010 3:58 pm

    I didn’t work on any quilting this weekend. I, too, sew it onto the front by machine and hand sew it on the other side.

  4. Lori permalink
    October 31, 2010 4:38 pm

    I only did a small amount of quilting this weekend. I did some machine stitching around some fusible appliqué.

    For regular quilts I do hand stitch the binding to the back. Not my favourite job at all but I do like the look. For some fast baby quilts and place mats I will stitch the binding to the back, turn to the front and use the machine to stitch it down. I guess I do a little of both!

  5. October 31, 2010 4:49 pm

    Yes I definitely quilted this weekend. I am hand sewing the binding for a friend’s quilt and have started a new wall hanging.

  6. October 31, 2010 5:43 pm

    I did sew all weekend; piecing, stitch-in-the-ditch and straight line stitching. Working on binding now. I usually tack down the binding by hand. I just got a different sewing machine so I may try by machine again. I didn’t have much success on the old machine. The sneak peek looks good. Looking forward to seeing the entire quilt.

  7. Kathy permalink
    October 31, 2010 6:07 pm

    Quilted 6 quilts this week so no quilting on the weekend, need a break! Still sewing though, I’m working on costumes for the local production of Alice In Wonderland.
    I sew the majority of my binding from the front and hand stitch on the back, unless it is something small like a placemat and then I stitch on the back, flip to the front and stitch it down by machine. A real time saver on those little project!

  8. Ginny Worden permalink
    October 31, 2010 7:35 pm

    I spent the weekend sewing a binding, by hand, onto a rather large quilt, but I’m happy. It is done. Yahoo!

    • bmdadmin permalink*
      October 31, 2010 7:44 pm

      HI Genny!! How are you? Glad you are still keeping an eye on us.

  9. Agnes permalink
    October 31, 2010 7:40 pm

    #1–All my quilting was in the form of cutting. I am in a frenzy of using up small pieces from stash and cutting 2 1/2″ triangles for HST. I’m cutting for 3 projects, based on color. Starting tomorrow I hope to put that kind of energy into actually stitching.

    #2–Machine on the front with flip over to the back and then hand stitching.

  10. Karen Greaves permalink*
    October 31, 2010 8:38 pm

    Hey, y’all. I was happily stitching this week end too! Currently working on a version of the very quilt in this post. (Beautiful quilting, Judy!)
    My binding is almost always sewn on by machine – on the front, folded over the in the ditch on the front just catching the fold on the back. Works for me!

  11. Peggy Groves permalink
    October 31, 2010 9:21 pm

    We had a “sew day” Sunday, so I did indeed get to do some “quilting”. (Usually the only time I do.)

    I have done binding several different ways – sewn to the front, turned to the back and handstitched, or stitch-in-the-ditch from the front. I have stitched it to the back, folded to the front and machine stitched. It depends on the situation. Sometimes I have done quilts without binding (quick-turn method).

  12. sherry permalink
    November 1, 2010 12:43 am

    I spent Saturday quilting with members of my guild (once a month we hold a UFO day).

    As in the majority of the other comments posted here, I sew the binding to the front of the quilt (or small quilted item) by machine and hand stitch to the back.

    Love your blog.

  13. Dianne Schollar permalink
    November 1, 2010 8:48 am

    This weekend I started cutting pieces for “Ahead of the Curves” and can’t wait to start sewing it. As for the binding, I machine quilt the top and then hand stitch the back.

  14. susan permalink
    November 1, 2010 12:04 pm

    have just finished two of your baby patterns and have been eyeing up several patterns, just making the final selection and will be ordering soon, as I have a grandson due in December and he needs more than two quilts! I put the binding on the front by machine and then sewing the rest by hand. keep up the blogging as i love it!!

  15. Karen S permalink
    November 1, 2010 12:04 pm

    Friday was a 9 to 3 sew day with a girl friend, so yes, quilting and solving the worlds problems! Binding…………. I would say 80% of the time its machine sewn both sides. Perhaps for a special quilt, I will hand sew, but not usually.

  16. Corina permalink
    November 1, 2010 3:21 pm

    Yes I was piecing together a quilt that I am making for my son in preparation for the move to his “big boy” bed! I almost got the top done – it’s a turquoise and brown palette. And I keep checking your new releases because the next thing on the list to make is a new baby quilt for the new baby that will be going in his crib in February! SO many nice ones to choose from!

  17. Corina permalink
    November 1, 2010 3:23 pm

    Question number 2 – for the most part I put binding on by hand – it is a relaxing thing for me to do in front of the TV!

  18. JoAnne permalink
    November 1, 2010 5:39 pm

    I wanted to quilt on the weekend, but I was to sick, sick, sick. I could barely get out of bed. But, since I was away from home, I would have worked on my Hawaiian applique project. About binding: I have done several by machine, but I really do prefer the look of hand-sewn binding, so that is what happens most. Table runners, wall hangings, or baby quilts are top candidates for the machine-sewn binding. I’ve been enjoying looking at all your new releases over the past week.

  19. Eleanor Cross permalink
    November 1, 2010 7:05 pm

    I worked on my Manhatten quilt that I started at retreat on the weekend. I almost have the whole top together.

    When you asked about how I put my binding on, I think that the ONLY way to finish it is to hand sew the binding to the back of the quilt. I don’t like the look of a binding sewn down by machine.

  20. Lenora permalink
    November 2, 2010 3:48 pm

    I was working on a pumpkin table topper, but didn’t finish in time for this Halloween….maybe next year. I do the usual binding with hand stitching on the back. In fact I was doing some today.

  21. Kerri permalink
    November 2, 2010 8:56 pm

    #1- cutting our the pieces for the next quilt- not so much fun- rather be sewing, but you gotta do what you gotta do- right?
    #2- machine sew to the front and flip over and hand sew- makes TV watching less guilty.

Leave a Reply

