Skip to content

Autumn Amish

September 14, 2010

  Today, I was able to step away from work for a few minutes, and take a deep breath.  And then I suddenly realized I had just taken a breath of  cool and refreshing autumn air.  The leaves are beginning to change into glorious rich colors, and then I remembered how much I love this season. 

I have had a new favorite quilt hanging over our staircase for the past few weeks, and today I knew was the perfect time to take it outside, and try to get a picture of it.  It reflects the colors of autumn, but it still has touches of bright summer green.  The quilt is plain, and simple, and it may surprise you that it is one of my favorites.  I love it not just because of the colors, or the simplicity, but because it reflects the Amish style, which brings back a lot of great childhood memories.

I won’t bore you with the long story, but I was able to spend two years of my childhood living among the Amish in Lancaster, PA.  I can get a little melodramatic as I look at my own children, and realize that they are the age now, that I was when my family moved from Canada, down into the US for a two year term.  It was the Amish women who taught my mother to quilt, and in turn, I learnt from watching her.  But my memories are not about quilting, but of playing on the Amish farms, chasing fire flies, riding in the buggies, hiding in the hay lofts, being surrounded by horses, and sitting on porches eating Turkey Hill ice cream.  Many people mistakenly believe that the Amish shun anything that is modern, and efficient.  But if you knew the Amish, you would realize they don’t fear technology, they simply choose family and their faith above everything else.  And when you have the love of your parents, and your children, and peace in your faith, everything else is just a distraction.

I love this quilt, and apparently so did American Patchwork & Quilting.  You will see this project, done in another color story featured in their Dec. issue. (on newstands in Oct.)  And they have done a much, much better photography job with their quilt, than I did with mine.

See you soon,

myra

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Marekans permalink
    September 16, 2010 10:37 am

    Oh! I love the quilt, the story, and guess what, I’m going to keep watch for the magazine!

  2. Kathy Klassen permalink
    September 28, 2010 9:43 pm

    Hi, it is nice to see what you are up to. Now that we have faster internet I could finaly look you up. I realy like the quilt. Keep taking time to breath in the nice fresh air it is soon going to get much colder.

  3. September 29, 2010 4:28 pm

    i’d have to say that’s gorgeous ~ both quilt & photo!
    no backseat to anyone – kudos …

Leave a Reply

