Skip to content

My brother-in-laws find

May 14, 2010

So a few weeks ago my brother-in-law asked me if I had seen the article in the Winnipeg free press about a quilter. Nope, don’t read the free press, he saved it for me and this is what I found.

I read the article and I was wowed! Kathy has such a great heart and is so talented and quilting is just one of her talents. She is making little quilts for the women’s hospital in Winnipeg. Actually she is paying it forward and you can read more about on her blog.  http://www.magnoliadesigns.blogspot.com/

Then I sent her an email on mother’s day. She emailed me right back and we both were excited!  I am getting her some fabric so she can complete some more quilts. Actually I will be donating a couple of little quilts myself and that is my challenge to you. She has a deadline of July 16th. I am not doing her story justice, but please visit her blog and get the whole story. If you have fabric or have time to make some quilts please do help out and donate.

Here is an excerpt from her blog post;

Quilting for Babes is getting some local attention today. As I mentioned in my post yesterday, Lindor Reynolds, columnist at the Winnipeg Free Press wrote this piece to bring more attention to our not-so-little project. I am honored, but at the same time humbled.

I have learned so much in this process. I have learned new techniques for quilting (never done a tumbler or a pinwheel before). More importantly, I have learned that there is more good in the world than bad. We often hear of all the terrible things and people, but not nearly often enough do we here of everyday people, giving of themselves to help out with another’s passionate projects.

 Happy reading and let me know if you are going to help out! 
Like I said she has more talents than just quilting and scrapbooking is one of them too. So I couldn’t resist showing you the page she did about the article in the free press.

~c

One Comment leave one →
  1. kathymurray permalink
    May 14, 2010 11:17 am

    Thank you so much for this post. I thank the Lord for all of the wonderful people that He has brought into my life through this quilting project. I appreciate your call for help…it means so much. And I can’t wait to see the quilts you are working on, I am excited. I’m gushing here, but I am also so thankful for the fabric you are sending our way. You ROCK!

Leave a Reply

