Skip to content

a project for the hockey fan

November 10, 2010

Hey everyone!  Here is just one of the projects that has been keeping me busy for the last 2 weeks. The other one I can not share quite yet.

 This project started in my mind about 1 year ago.  My son plays minor hockey and every year we have a “home tournament”. We also have a silent auction table where we as parents and the businesess in our community donate items to raise money. I come from a family of hockey lovers, my brothers, my kids…so I had this idea. Thanks to my brother Eric B who attended the Washington Capitals vs. Minnesota Wild game this past October and met up with his friend #16 of the Washington Capitals – Eric Fehr. Eric Fehr is one of Winklers NHL hockey heroes and he was generous enough to autograph a piece of fabric for me! SO much appreciated and makes this project that much more special too.

Here is the end result.

 I used techniques like zig zag top stitching and heat and bond lite to accomplish the hockey jersey feeling to my project. I dropped this body pillow off at the arena yesterday and even the Dad’s want to win this thing!

So here’s hoping that this pillow will bring in LOTS of money for the Novice hockey team inWinkler MB.

~c

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Shirl permalink
    November 11, 2010 6:18 am

    That looks great! Where did you get the fabric with the Caps’ logo on it? I’ve been looking everywhere.

    • bmdadmin permalink*
      November 11, 2010 9:40 am

      It’s not “fabric” I made that myself.

      • Shirl permalink
        November 11, 2010 1:49 pm

        Really?? So are the letters embroidered?

      • bmdadmin permalink*
        November 11, 2010 1:56 pm

        I cut them out of fabric and zig zag stitched around them! It give a really neat effect. I also did the numbers the same way, it give the real jersey effect. The word “Washington” is embroidered with a husqvarna sewing machine.

  2. November 11, 2010 10:44 am

    Awesome! I want one! :-)

    • bmdadmin permalink*
      November 11, 2010 1:57 pm

      That can be arranged!!

  3. Kerri permalink
    November 14, 2010 7:35 am

    great idea for any little hockey player- use their team colors and name and voila! Got a nephew and niece that both play- my mind is working now- thanks.

Trackbacks

  1. World Spinner
  2. Puck Headlines: Maple Leafs called out; Chara gets hit in the head? | Sports Talk

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

